Italian States

Please click on the image to enlarge

Please click on the image to enlarge

This map shows the Italian states around the time of the unification of Italy as the kingdom of Italy in 1861. Nice and Savoy were ceded by the kingdom of Sardinia to France in 1859. In return, France agreed to the cession of Lombardy by Austria to Sardinia in 1860. Venetia was ceded by Austria to what, by then, was the kingdom of Italy in 1866. The Papal States ceded its province of Romanga, in 1859, which would be governed by a provisional government before becoming part of Sardinia. In 1860 its provinces of Marche and Umbria were ceded to Sardinia. The remainder of the Papal States became part of the Italian kingdom in 1870.    

← Previous page: IcariaNext page: Italy 1914-1920 → 


Please leave a response

If you have any questions or suggestions to improve this page, please leave a response. Your response will become visible after approval. Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.

Please enter the correct number *