German States

Please click on the image to enlarge

Please click on the image to enlarge, click here for the PDF version of the image

This map shows the German states at the time of the German unification in 1871. A catalyst in the process of unification was the Franco-Prussian war of 1870-1871, during which Prussia and its German allies occupied parts of France. The occupation lasted until 1874, to ensure reparations would be paid by the French. As a result of the war, Alsace-Lorraine was ceded by France to Germany. Many German states have issued stamps until, or even after – Bavaria and Württemberg – the German unification. Those that did not issue their own stamps were part of the postal system of other states or were serviced by the counts of Thurn & Taxis, that have operated a postal system in central Europe since the Middle Ages.

← Previous page: CzechoslovakiaNext page: Germany 1914-1938 → 


Please leave a response

If you have any questions or suggestions to improve this page, please leave a response. Your response will become visible after approval. Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.

Please enter the correct number *