Germany 1945-Present

Please click on the image to enlarge

Please click on the image to enlarge, click here for the PDF version of the image

After WWII, Germany is divided into four occupation zones. The American, British and French zones, in 1949, join to form the Federal Republic of Germany. The Soviet zone, in 1949, forms the German Democratic Republic. In 1990 the Federal and Democratic republics are united in the Federal Republic of Germany. Berlin is likewise divided into four sectors that are equally united in 1990. Within the occupation zones, states are formed. The states in the western zones exist until today, with the exception of Baden, Württemberg-Baden and Württemberg-Hohenzollern which have merged to form Baden-Württemberg in 1952. In the German Democratic Republic, the states were abolished in 1952. At the time of the unification in 1990, the states were reinstated, albeit that some borders were adjusted. Stamps for the occupation zones are issued at different times, either jointly or separately. In the Soviet zone, the first issues are on postal district level. Local issues have appeared in many cities. For West Berlin, separate issues have appeared between 1948 and 1990.

← Previous page: Germany 1938-1945Next page: Greece → 


Please leave a response

If you have any questions or suggestions to improve this page, please leave a response. Your response will become visible after approval. Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.

Please enter the correct number *