Aegean Islands

Please click on the image for a full screen version of the image

Please click on the image to enlarge

This map shows the Aegean Islands – also called Dodecanese. The Aegean Islands were Turkish, were occupied by Italy in 1912 and were formally ceded by Turkey to Italy in 1923. Castelrosso – also Turkish – was occupied by France in 1915 and transferred to Italy in 1921. The Aegean Islands were occupied by Germany in 1943 and transferred to Greece after WWII. The Italians issued stamps both for the whole group of islands and for the individual islands.

← Previous page: Turkey 1914-PresentNext page: Austria 1850-1918 → 


Please leave a response

If you have any questions or suggestions to improve this page, please leave a response. Your response will become visible after approval. Required fields are marked *. Your email address will not be published.

Please enter the correct number *